Saturday, February 21, 2009

215 lbs.

The 215 lbs weight class is full of wrestlers with the perfect combination of size and strength. Derrick Laney of LFO won the 3A matchup barely 15 seconds into the match. The 5A match remained scoreless in the 2nd period between Christopher Collins of Collins Hill and Allen Scruggs of Valdosta until Collins went on top 1-0. Scruggs escaped with a victory however, in overtime. This match is the match of the day with everyone in the crowd is in full throat as the contigents from Collins Hill and Valdosta stand and appreciate both athletes for a superb match. Toombs County's Demery Hawkins won the 2A title. Patrick Blankenbeker of Fayette County took the 4A title.